UCR Homepage CHASS Homepage

Faculty

Juliann Emmons Allison
Associate Professor
Ph.D., UCLA, Political Science
Political economy, environmental politics and policy, community-based social change, especially as it relates to conflict resolution and environmental sustainability
Office: 2017 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4379
E-mail: juliann.allison@ucr.edu

Alicia Arrizón
Professor and Associate Dean of Student Academic Affairs
Ph.D., Stanford University, Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Theatre and Performance Studies, Feminist Theory; Chicana(o) Latin American/U.S. Latino Literatures and Cultures; Ethnicity, Race, Gender, and Sexualities.
Office: INTS 2049
Phone: (951) 827-4359
E-mail: alicia.arrizon@ucr.edu

Crystal Baik
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California, American Studies & Ethnicity (concentration in Gender & Sexuality Studies)
Office: INTN 4034
Phone: (951) 827-6435
E-mail: crystal.baik@ucr.edu

Amalia Cabezas
Associate Professor
Chicano and Latino studies, Latin American and Caribbean studies, tourism and leisure studies, sexualities studies, and women's/feminist/gender studies
Office: Sproul 3104
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: amalia.cabezas@ucr.edu

Katja M. Guenther 
Associate Professor
Ph.D,  Sociology, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Feminist movements and resistance, gender and the state, ethnography, post-socialism, secularism, animals and gender.
Office: 2033A CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: katja@ucr.edu

Sherine Hafez
Associate Professor and Chair
Ph.D., UC Davis, Anthropology
Postcolonial feminisms, Gender in Muslim and Middle Eastern Societies and Cultures, Gender and Revolution. Islamophobia and Gender.
Office: 2021 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: sherine.hafez@ucr.edu

Tamara Ho
Associate Professor
PhD, Comparative Literature, UCLA 
Gender and Sexuality Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Southeast Asian Studies, US Ethnic Studies, Asian American literature, Chicana/o literature.
Office: 2038 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: tamara.ho@ucr.edu

Anthonia Kalu
Professor, Department of Gender & Sexuality Studies and Comparative Literature
Ph.D. in African Languages and Literature; Sub-specialty: African-American Literature – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin.
Office: HMNSS 2500
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: anthonia.kalu@ucr.edu

Jade Sasser
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, U.C. Berkeley, Environmenal Science, Policy & Management
Development studies, feminist political ecology, post colonial theory, science and technology studies, reproductive politics, and gender and technology.
Office: 2011 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: jade.sasser@ucr.edu

Chikako Takeshita
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2004, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Feminist studies of science, technology, and medicine; reproductive health, rights, and politics in global perspective; gender, technology and the body.
Office: 2013 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-5133
E-mail: chikako.takeshita@ucr.edu

Jane Ward
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, Sociology
Queer studies; critical heterosexuality studies; critical whiteness studies.
Office: 2025 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: jane.ward@ucr.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Marguerite R. Waller
Professor (Gender and Sexuality Studies and Comparative Literature)
Ph.D., Yale University, Comparative Literature
Transnational/postcolonial feminist film and media, feminist theory, sexualities studies, human rights, immigration, Mediterranean Studies.
E-mail: marguerite.waller@ucr.edu