UCR Homepage CHASS Homepage

Faculty

Juliann Emmons Allison
Associate Professor and Chair
Ph.D., UCLA, Political Science
Political economy, environmental politics and policy, community-based social change, especially as it relates to conflict resolution and environmental sustainability
Office: 2017 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4379
E-mail: juliann.allison@ucr.edu

Alicia Arrizón
Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University, Critical Theory, Cultural Studies, Theatre and Performance Studies, Feminist Theory; Chicana(o) Latin American/U.S. Latino Literatures and Cultures; Ethnicity, Race, Gender, and Sexualities.
Office: INTS 2049
Phone: (951) 827-4359
E-mail: alicia.arrizon@ucr.edu

Crystal Baik
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California, American Studies & Ethnicity (concentration in Gender & Sexuality Studies)
Office: INTN 4034
Phone: (951) 827-6435
E-mail: crystal.baik@ucr.edu

Amalia Cabezas
Associate Professor
Chicano and Latino studies, Latin American and Caribbean studies, tourism and leisure studies, sexualities studies, and women's/feminist/gender studies
Office: Sproul 3104
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: amalia.cabezas@ucr.edu

Katja M. Guenther 
Associate Professor
Ph.D,  Sociology, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Feminist movements and resistance, gender and the state, ethnography, post-socialism, secularism, animals and gender
Office: 2033A CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: katja@ucr.edu

Sherine Hafez
Associate Professor
Ph.D., UC Davis, Anthropology
Postcolonialism, Gender, Religion and Secularism in the Middle East.
Office: 2021 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: sherine.hafez@ucr.edu

Tamara Ho
Associate Professor
PhD, Comparative Literature, UCLA 
Gender and Sexuality Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Southeast Asian Studies, US Ethnic Studies, Asian American literature, Chicana/o literature.
Office: 2038 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: tamara.ho@ucr.edu

Anthonia Kalu
Professor, Department of Gender & Sexuality Studies and Comparative Literature
Ph.D. in African Languages and Literature; Sub-specialty: African-American Literature – University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin.
Office: HMNSS 2500
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: anthonia.kalu@ucr.edu

Jade Sasser
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, U.C. Berkeley, Environmenal Science, Policy & Management
Office: 2011 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: jade.sasser@ucr.edu

Eric Stanley 
Assistant Professor
Ph.D, History of Consciousness, University of California, Santa Cruz.
Research Areas: trans studies, queer theory, postcolonial theory, disability studies, anarchism, critical prison studies
Office: 2007 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building North
Phone: 951-827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: eric.stanley@ucr.edu

Chikako Takeshita
Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2004, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Feminist studies of science, technology, and medicine; reproductive health, rights, and politics in global perspective; gender, technology and the body.
Office: 2013 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-5133
E-mail: chikako.takeshita@ucr.edu

Deborah R. Vargas
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Santa Cruz
Chicano/Latino cultural studies, critical race feminisms, queer of color critique, popular culture, feminist ethnography, borderlands theory, and oral history methods.
Office: 4005 INTN
Phone: (951) 827-1557
E-mail: deb.vargas@ucr.edu

Marguerite R. Waller
Professor (Gender and Sexuality Studies and Comparative Literature)
Ph.D., Yale University, Comparative Literature
Transnational/postcolonial feminist film and media, feminist theory, sexualities studies, human rights, immigration, Mediterranean Studies.
Office: 2033C CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: marguerite.waller@ucr.edu

Jane Ward
Professor and Vice-Chair
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, Sociology
Queer studies; critical heterosexuality studies; critical whiteness studies.
Office: 2025 CHASS Interdisciplinary Building
Phone: (951) 827-4843 (department line)
E-mail: jane.ward@ucr.edu

Melanie Yazzie
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
Specializes in Diné studies, Indigenous feminist and queer studies, American Indian history, social and political theory, critical environmental studies, and US social movements.
Office: INTN 2035
Phone: (951) 827-6427
E-mail: melanie.yazzie@ucr.edu